The annual ESRC Celebrating Impact Prize, now in its fifth year, is an opportunity to recognise and reward researchers whose work has made a real difference to society or the economy.

The prize is awarded to ESRC-funded social science researchers or ESRC associates who have achieved impact through outstanding research, collaborative partnerships, engagement or knowledge exchange activities.

There are many different ways that social science can change our society for the better, for example by enhancing the economic competitiveness of the UK; improving public services; raising standards of living and health; contributing to the development of UK policy; driving innovation or improving management practices of businesses; helping a particular group in society; or helping societies in other countries. To reflect this diversity there are five different categories, as well as a prize for the Impact Champion - an individual who has a significant personal track record in supporting and enabling others to achieve impact.

A prize of £10,000 is awarded to the winner of each category, whilst a further prize of £10,000 is awarded to the Impact Champion.

The awards ceremony will take place at Central Hall, Westminster on the evening of 21 June 2017, where the winners will be announced.

The researchers shortlisted for the 2017 Celebrating Impact Prize are:

Outstanding Early Career Impact (in partnership with SAGE publishing)

Outstanding Impact in Business and Enterprise

Outstanding Impact in Society

Outstanding International Impact

Outstanding Impact in Public Policy

Impact Champion

  • We will also be announcing our 2017 Impact Champion on the evening of 21 June.

The shortlist was selected by a panel of experts from a wide range of submissions which included written evidence from organisations that have used the research to shape their policies and practice.

This year’s panel consisted of:

  • Professor Richard Breen, Professorial Fellow, Nuffield College, University of Oxford
  • Dr Abbi Hobbs, Senior Advisor in Social Science, UK Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology
  • Dr Johannes Klumpers, Head of Scientific Advice Mechanism Unit, European Commission
  • Dr Claire McNulty, Director Science and Research, British Council
  • Professor Tony McEnery, Director of Research and International, ESRC
  • Matt Sansam, Programme Manager, Innovate UK
  • Dr Emma Weitkamp, Associate Professor in Science Communication, UWE Bristol