Official Development Assistance (ODA) update

Please refer to ODA review for the latest information on ODA.

Newton Fund logo

The Newton Fund was launched in 2014 and originally consisted of £75 million each year for 5 years. In the 2015 UK Spending Review it was agreed to extend and expand the Fund. The Newton Fund was extended from 2019 to 2021 and expanded by doubling the £75 million investment to £150 million by 2021, leading to a £735 million UK investment to 2021, with partner countries providing matched resources within the Fund.

Newton Prize

The Newton Prize recognises excellent science, research and innovation in support of economic development and social welfare in Newton Fund partner countries.  

This annual £1 million prize fund celebrates the best partnerships between the UK and Newton countries, encouraging international collaboration to address global challenges.

The 2020 Newton Prize countries are  Egypt, Jordan, Kenya, South Africa and Turkey

For further information, visit the Newton Fund website.

Newton Fund Impact Event - 2018

ESRC and Glasgow IAA came together to organise a unique Newton Fund Impact Event in March 2018. Over fifty researchers, representing Newton Fund awards in countries such as Brazil, China, India, Mexico, South Africa, Turkey and Vietnam, and from a wide spectrum of disciplines, attended this special event which was intended to promote networking and the different ways to maximise impact from international research.

This was the first time such a large group of international Newton Fund award holders had been brought together in one place and the two-day event followed a busy schedule with a mix of presentations and interactive activities intended to provoke broader thoughts about impact, beneficiaries and the benefits of international partnerships.

Watch our videos of the event: