The Administrative Data Research Network (ADRN), launched in 2013 and funded by the ESRC, is coming to the end of its five-year funding period.
The ESRC’s strategic commitment to making administrative data available for research continues and we are developing plans for a future provision for accessing and conducting research using administrative data in the UK. In the short term, we will be making some changes to the current ADRN. The Administrative Data Research Centres in the devolved administrations of Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales are expected to have a role in the planned new phase of investment, which will come into effect later in 2018. All four of the Administrative Data Research Centres and the Administrative Data Service will be involved in the transition to the new service being developed. Further information will follow. 

In the meantime, the work of the ADRN will continue. 

Administrative Data Research Network (ADRN)

In Phase 1, since October 2013, we have invested in the development of the Administrative Data Research Network (ADRN).

The core aim of the ADRN is to facilitate access to and linkage of de-identified administrative data routinely collected by government departments and other public sector organisations.

Key elements of the ADRN are:

  • Four Administrative Data Research Centres (ADRCs), one each in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales; and an Administrative Data Service (ADS) for the Network
  • Key partnerships with National Statistical Authorities
  • A UK-wide governance for the network
  • Creating safe physical or virtual environments to access data
  • Researcher training and accreditation
  • Engaging with the public

The Directors of the ADS and the four ADRCs are:

  • Administrative Data Service: Ms Melanie Wright at University of Essex
  • Administrative Data Research Centre - England: Professor Peter Smith at University of Southampton
  • Administrative Data Research Centre - Northern Ireland: Dr Dermot O'Reilly at Queens University Belfast
  • Administrative Data Research Centre - Scotland: Professor Chris Dibben at University of Edinburgh
  • Administrative Data Research Centre - Wales: Professor David Ford at Swansea University.