We provide funding for knowledge exchange and engagement activities through Impact Acceleration Accounts (IAAs). IAAs are block awards made to research organisations to accelerate the impact of research.

We have awarded new IAA funding to 26 research organisations across the UK that receive substantial levels of ESRC research funding. The funding started in April 2019 and lasts for four years.

IAAs allow research organisations (ROs) to respond to impact opportunities in more flexible, responsive and creative ways. They provide ROs with agility and flexibility to make decisions about how to invest IAA funding in ways that best suit their institutional strategies and opportunities. Our IAA funding builds capacity and creates opportunities for the social sciences to work across disciplines to progress research outputs and outcomes towards impact. ESRC IAAs proactively engage across their institution to build networks and leverage funding vital for sustainability of knowledge exchange and impact.

Key areas

IAA funding addresses the following objectives:

  • Strengthen RO knowledge exchange through culture change, including through the development of skills for KE activity
  • Strengthen RO and researcher user engagement
  • Support knowledge exchange at early stages of progressing research outputs and outcomes to the point when they can be supported by other funding
  • Support new, innovative and imaginative approaches to KE and impact, including processes that enable 'fast failure' and appropriate learning
  • Support activities that enable impact to be achieved in an effective and timely manner, including secondments and people exchange
  • Demonstrate how longer term support for and sustainability of KE/impact support will be maintained
  • Demonstrate how ESRC will see the benefits via stronger, well thought out impact plans to the grant applications received.

Research organisations that have been awarded round two IAAs

  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Cambridge
  • Cardiff University
  • Durham University
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Essex
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Glasgow
  • Institute for Fiscal Studies
  • King's College London
  • Lancaster University
  • University of Leeds
  • University of Leicester
  • University of Manchester
  • National Institute of Economic and Social Research (NIESR)
  • Newcastle University
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Oxford
  • Queen's University Belfast
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Southampton
  • University of Surrey
  • University of Sussex
  • University of Warwick
  • University of York