The Centre for Translational Research in Public Health (Fuse) is a 'virtual' research centre, and is one of five Centres of Excellence in Public Health research funded through the UK Clinical Research Collaboration (UKCRC). Fuse brings together the five North East universities - Durham, Newcastle, Northumbria, Sunderland and Teesside - and works in partnership with the public and in collaboration with the NHS, local and regional government and other public, private and voluntary organisations in North East England.

Working within the framework of the Regional Health and Wellbeing Strategy (Better Health, Fairer Health), Fuse supports the transformation of health across the region, through public health research and the application of knowledge in policy and practice.