The PhD partnering scheme is a pilot scheme, designed to generate new partnerships and develop existing links between the ESRC's Doctoral Training Centres (DTCs) and centres of research excellence around the world.  

The aim of this initiative is to enable strong, long term, sustainable research collaborations. Partnerships are centred on providing ESRC-funded students and their supervisors with opportunities to build links with their peers and colleagues abroad. This may be through working on complementary research topics or with similar methods. These partnerships are supported by the institutions of the student and supervisor. 

Funded partnerships are listed below.


  • University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • Centre Africain de Recherches sur les Traites et les Esclavages (CARTE) (a partnership between West African Universities: Senegal, Niger, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Haiti)
  • University of Ghana and University of Cape Coast, Ghana
  • University of Ibadan, Nigeria


  • University of the Free State, South Africa
  • National University of Singapore, Singapore


  • Xiamen University, Renmin University and Huazhong University, China


  • Renmin University of China, China
  • Jawaharlal Nehru University, India

Kings College London

  • Jawaharlal Nehru University and University of Mumbai, India
  • Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines
  • Chancellor College, Malawi
  • University of the Western Cape, South Africa

London School of Economics

  • Peking University and Fudan University, China
  • University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Getulio Vargas Foundation, Brazil
  • International College of Economics and Finance, Russia
  • Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Jamia Millia Islamia and Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India
  • University of Tokyo and Hitotsubashi University, Japan
  • Seoul National University, South Korea
  • University of Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania
  • Makerere University, Uganda
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • University of Ghana, Ghana
  • University of Ibadan, Nigeria

North East

  • Pontificia Universida de Católica do Rio Grande de Sul (PUCRS), Brazil


  • Chinese Academy of Social Sciences Graduate School and Shanghai Mental Health Centre, China
  • University of Cape Town, South Africa

North West

  • University of Malawi, Malawi
  • Fluminense Federal University, Brazil
  • University of Latvia, Latvia

Queen Mary Goldsmiths

  • The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • University of Ngaoundere, Cameroon
  • Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, University of Mysore and Anna University, India
  • Institute of Psychology, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Beijing, Beijing Normal University, Beijing Foreign Studies University, Nanjing University and Tsinghua University, China

South East

  • Peking University, China
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya


  • Population Development Research Centre, China


  • TATA Institute of Social Science (TISS) Mumbai, India
  • Beijing Normal University, China
  • University of Witwatersrand, South Africa

South West

  • University of Kyoto, Japan
  • University of Cape Town, South Africa

University College London

  • National University Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russia


  • Central European University, Budapest, Hungary
  • University of Delhi and Karnatak University, India
  • Federal University of Paraiba, Brazil


  • The Latin American School of Social Sciences, FLACSO, Argentina
  • University of Sao Paolo, Brazil
  • Universidad Diego Portales, Chile
  • China Foreign Affairs University and Fudan University, China
  • Universidad de los Andes, Law School, Colombia
  • Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic
  • University of Education, Winneba, Ghana
  • City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Centre for Internet and Society, Bangalore and Centre for the Study of Developing Societies, Delhi, India
  • Nagoya University, Japan
  • The National Research University, St. Petersburg, Russia
  • University of Zimbabwe, Harare, Zimbabwe


ESRC-funded DTC students who wish to find out more information about the scheme should speak to their DTC.